Monday, December 17, 2012

What happened next? XIX


London, 2005. Black has just played 40... Qa1+. Time control reached.


What happened next?



What happened next? Index

15 comments:

Jonathan B said...

White played qxf7 mate winning. Black didn't realise what had happened until he got home

PJM said...

Nope.

Tom Chivers said...

Was the touch move rule an issue?

PJM said...

Nope.

Tom Chivers said...

Last guess: was there an overlooked mate in 1?

PJM said...

Nope.

David R said...

The time control reached, White sensibly took stock. He thought long & hard, assessing the key features of the position. A win was still possible, but it would require Perseverance, Patience and considerable Precision. But first, the King must move out of check. Holding fast to the PPP code, bearing particular attention to the need for Precision, White played Kb3

Anonymous said...

His opponent did a CJ and legged it?

Matt Fletcher said...

White resigns?

PJM said...

Nope.

Matt Fletcher said...

White thought so long over his 2 legal moves that he lost on time?

Ben Edgell said...

White believed black had offered a draw, when black was checking they had made the time control? Remember reading an article about this. David Howell was white, the author of the article (whose name I can't recall) was black.

David R said...

Black, having reached the time control, neglected to press his clock and hence, lost on time

PJM said...

Ben has the basic premise. Full details Wednesday.

Ben Edgell said...

Was it Jon Levitt playing black?